Kumar Sangakkara believes Rajasthan Royals can make a turnaround this time

Rajasthan Royals had an unexpectedly great start in the IPL. Termed as the underdogs, the franchise did exceptionally well under the leadership of Shane Warne. However, after Warne’s retirement, RR has not been able to replicate the success nor the spirited performance on a consistent basis.

Kumar Sangakkara, who was appointed as the director of cricket by the franchise in, believes the new set of talent and players have it in them to turn around the performance of the franchise under the leadership of Sanju Samson.

Rajasthan Royals had a very dismal outing in the last three seasons. They finished at the spots of 7th, 8th, and 7th in the last three seasons. They have included some quality players this time, especially with the likes of R. Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal, RR is expected to stop the leakage of runs after the powerplay, something which has been a concern for them for the last few years.

¬†“We know we had quite a bit of work to do in the off-season with regards to our team. I think we managed to identify the key areas which needed our attention and having had a proper process when it comes to selecting players at the auction, we managed to kind of hit the markers that we set for ourselves,” former Sri Lankan captain said.

Rajasthan Royals also have an exciting pace unit with the likes of  Boult, Prasidh, Saini, Coulter-Nile, and McCoy. The franchise had earlier retained captain Sanju Samson, Yashaswi Jaiswal, and Jos Butler.

Rajasthan Royals is also bolstered with the addition of Lasith Malinga, who previously worked for the Mumbai Indians. Paddy Upton, who had worked with the Indian team, will also be on the coaching staff for the RRs.

Rajasthan Royals Squad for IPL 2022

Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler (R), Yashasvi Jaiswal (R), R Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Arunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell”

Leave a Comment